Accomplished Students


Top One Percent

Congratulations to Elijah Ruano for receiving the NASDA Academic All-American Award. This award is given to 1% of the nation. To qualify for this award, students must have finished five semesters of school, have at least a 3.7 GPA and have earned 850 NASDA points.

Iron Sequoit Award Athletes

The 2019-2020 Iron Sequoit award is presented to athletes who have participated in three sports for each of their four years of high school. Congratulations to the following athletes: Paige Bolton, Jackson Fries, Allison Kane, Brandon Pinto, Joey Pyles, Elijah Reyes, Niall Schoenfelder, Maya Schon, Sarah Smith and Molly Volkmar.

Thumbs Up from Illinois Principals

Emily and Drew Higgins were nominated for the 2019-2020 Lake County Illinois Principals Association breakfast. This event recognizes students who excel both in and out of the classroom. 

Math Students Honored

The math department at ACHS would like to congratulate Seniors Matthew Bohn, Angelina Buchino, Zaina Hussain, Alexandra Johnson, Marja Lalley, Zachary MacMillan, Mirandi McCormick, Josephine Morgret, Elliana Nordhaus and Hui Ting Zhao for their continued participation in Mu Alpha Theta, the National Honor Society for math. These students have all demonstrated a commitment to math by earning at least a 4.0 math GPA. We truly appreciate all their hard work and wish them the best of luck as they move on to the next part of their adventure.

Honors Orchestra Student Performs

Dae Burke was selected to the ILMEA District 7 Honors Orchestra, auditioning with cello players from some of the best high schools in the Chicagoland area. He performed a concert with these top musicians, along with a guest director.

“Muffin Abductors” Take 1st in Sequoit Wellness Challenge

The six-week Sequoit Wellness Challenge was designed to promote wellness among students and staff members. Participants were encouraged to lead a balanced life by completing activities in five areas: emotional, intellectual, nutritional, physical and social wellness. Individual student winners include first place Emma Poklop, second place Matthias Madigan and thrid place Destiny Mathis. Winning teams include first place “Muffin Abductors” (Jenna Lamberty and Kayleigh Wieska), second place “Israel vs. Parmesan” (Caitlyn Osborne and Matt Stanek) and third place “:)” (Elliana Nordhaus and Izana Nordhaus).

Sequoit Speech Team Competes

The Sequoit Speech Team competed at two CFL tournaments, which qualified them to compete in the CFL Grand National Tournament. This presentation honored students for a variety of talents. Team members are Molly Adams, Peter Bognar, Gloria Lobodzinski, Serena Mielke, Braedon Naramore, Marcella Rivera, Rebecca Ross, Elijah Ruano, Oscar Scharrer and Beatriz Warnes.

Recognizing Excellence

A virtual celebration took place on April 29, for the Recognition of Excellence Acknowledgment.