Teachers Win “Those Who Excel” Awards


Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) awarded two Antioch D34 teachers with the “Those Who Excel” honorary Award of Meritorious Service in the Teacher category. Jennifer Jasinksi, 4th grade classroom teacher at WC Petty Elementary School and Tammy Johnson, Special Education Teacher at AUGS were both recognized for their commitment to their students. Mrs. Jasinki’s philosophy states that “While it is important to model for students the ability to be a lifelong learner, it is also important to demonstrate the ability of having a growth mindset.” In Mrs. Johnson’s application, parent Bizzy Vega stated that Mrs. Johnson has earned her son’s “trust, respect and love because she teaches with passion and patience.” As a 2023 Those Who Excel & Teacher of the Year awardee, they will be invited to ISBEs annual awards banquet where they will be presented with an award along with other stellar educators across the state. Congratulations on this amazing achievement! Thank you for all that you do to elevate our D34 students.

Aron Borowiak